Rhode Island

Rhode Island has many rules which may come into play in your personal injury case. Understanding these rules can vastly affect the outcome of your case. The following are some important Rhode Island laws regarding personal injury.

Deadlines- Rhode Island imposes a deadline of three years to file your personal injury claim. This statute of limitations extends from the date of the accident. Failure to file within this deadline may result in the forfeiture of your right to have the matter heard in court.

Comparative Fault- Rhode Island uses the comparative negligence rules in personal injury cases. This means that your fault will be reckoned as a percentage by the court. The amount you are entitled to collect will be reduced by a percentage equal to your fault in the accident. For example, if you are 5% at fault, and are awarded $10,000, you will receive $9,500.

Strict Liability in Dog Bite Cases- The owner of a dog in Rhode Island is responsible for all injuries caused by the animal. This is true regardless of whether there was prior knowledge that the animal would attack.

Damage Caps- Rhode Island imposes no caps on damages of any type in personal injury cases.

Claims Against the Government- Rhode Island has separate rules for filing suit against government entities or employees. All personal injury claims in Rhode Island must be filed with the state attorney general within three years before the matter can be taken to court.

Contact us for representation in Rhode Island.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s