Wyoming has specific statutes which may affect your personal injury case. It is important to have qualified representation to navigate these rules and collect the maximum damages you deserve. The following are some important Wyoming personal injury laws.

Time Limits- You have four years to file your personal injury claim or lawsuit in the state of Wyoming. This deadline extends immediately from the date of the injury. Failure to file within this statute of limitations forfeits your rights to compensation.

Claims Against the Government- Wyoming requires a notice of claims against the government in order to adhere to administrative rules. Also, the time limit is shortened to two years when filing against any government entity or employee.

Shared Fault- Wyoming employs a comparative negligence rule. This means that the fault of all parties is determined by the court as a percentage. The amount you are awarded is then reduced according to your percentage of fault in the accident. For example, if you are 25% at fault, an award of $10,000 becomes $7,500.

One Bite Rule in Animal Attack Cases- The owner of an animal is free from liability in the case of an attack if it is the first time the animal has attacked. This is known as the one bite rule.

Damage Caps- The state of Wyoming imposes no caps on any type of damages in a personal injury case.

Contact us for representation in Wyoming.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s